What is the cooper belt?

The Kuiper belt is a disc shaped area made up of asteroids that orbit the sun. The belt is very wide and lies further out than the orbit of Neptune. The dwarf planet Pluto is located inside this area. The Kuiper Belt was named after the Dutch astronomer Gerard Kuiper.