Where does the greeting high come from?

Originally a call to attract attention, the word hi, likely originated from the 15th century Middle English word hy or hey. But, hi is an Americanism. The Americans created it, and actually it was the Native Americans as it was first recorded in the speech of a Kansas Indian.