Can you overheat?

No. Your Echo may get warm during normal use, so place it on a heat resistant surface to reduce the effect of the warming. Devices can remain plugged in at all times, as the default mode is standby/sleep mode. I only truly turn on when I detect the wake word or receive a notification.