What is the smallest tree?

Growing to a mere 1-6cm in height, the dwarf willow (Salix herbacea) is arguably the world's tiniest tree. Well adapted to live in arctic and subarctic environments, this tiny wooden sprout has developed the key strategy to surviving the cold by staying really small.