How did the drummer of def leppard lose his arm?

While attempting to pass an Alfa Romeo on a winding country road near Sheffield, England, he lost control of his Corvette C4 and rolled it several times, in the process losing his left arm. An arm to a drummer is 25% of his ability to play.