What's a nuclear winter?

Nuclear winter is the term for climatic effects of nuclear. war. Smoke from the fires started by nuclear weapons, especially the black, sooty. smoke from cities and industrial facilities, would be heated by the Sun, lofted into. the upper stratosphere, and spread globally, lasting for years.