How many casualties were in world war two?

Nobody knows for sure, but worldwide estimates are between 70 and 85 million - of those, between 50 and 56 million are estimated to be military and civilian deaths directly from fighting, and the rest from famine and disease caused by the war. It is estimated that 20 to 25 million were military.