Why does it rain?

Warm air turns water from rivers, lakes, and oceans into water vapour that rises into the air. This vapour forms clouds, which contain small drops of water. As clouds rise higher, the air gets colder. When water vapor in the cloud becomes too heavy, it falls back to the ground as rain.