How is kosher meat prepared?

The only permitted cuts of meat come from the forequarters of a kosher animal. The animal must be slaughtered by a shochet — a person trained and certified to butcher animals according to Jewish laws. The meat must be soaked and salted in order to remove any traces of blood prior to cooking.