Why are eyebrows called eyebrows?

The reason why we have eyebrows was originally to keep rain and sweat out of our eyes. As a species we humans rely on our sight more than any other sense, and and with no eyebrows water can get in and seriously blur vision. Eyebrows may also deflect debris and shield our eyes from the Sun.