Who is alan what?

Alan Watts was an English writer and speaker who promoted Japanese, Chinese and Indian traditions of Buddhist, Taoist, and Hindu philosophy for a Western audience. Born in 1915 and died in 1973. His books include 'The Way of Zen'.