Why do we have hairy toes?

No one knows for sure, but it might be a remnant from our hairy ancestors. Our fine hairs, including on our toes, act as guard hairs allowing us to feel the smallest movement. With all the dangerous critters like mozzies or ticks that we used to encounter, this was a useful early warning system.