How much is v. a. t.?

V.a.t. in the u.k. varies depending on the product. For most goods and services, the rate is set at 20 percent. The rate is 5 percent for some goods and services such as home energy, and some essential goods such as food are 0 rated. Some goods are exempt from v.a.t., such as insurance policies.