Is horse riding a dangerous sport?

Horseriding is generally considered a sport with a high risk of injury, particularly Eventing, and Racing. However, the risk can be managed with correct training for both the rider and the animal, the speed of the activity, and use of safety equipment such as a helmet, boots, and a body protector.