What is a cat?

The cat (Felis catus) is a domestic species of small carnivorous mammal. It is the only domesticated species in the family Felidae and is often referred to as the domestic cat to distinguish its wild variant. Domestic cats are valued by humans for companionship and their ability to kill rodents.