Give me more definitions for stoic?

Some common synonyms of stoic are apathetic, impassive, phlegmatic, and stolid. All these words mean unresponsive to something that might normally excite interest or emotion, stoic implies an apparent indifference to pleasure or especially to pain often as a matter of principle or self-discipline