Is singapore a country or a city?

Singapore is a sovereign city state, with the main island and 60 plus other islands or islets. It is of the South Malay peninsula. It used to be a British Colony, was occupied by Japan in 1942 and handed back to the British in 1945 when Japan surrendered. It gained independence in 1959.