Who ruled the roman empire?

Gaius Julius Caesar Octavianus, titled as Augustus, was the first Roman Emperor, taking over from Julius Caesar, who was the first dictator of Rome after having seized power from the senate. Augustus was succeeded by 184 other Emperors, until the end of the empire in 1453.