What happened to the anglo-saxons?

The Anglo-Saxons were a cultural group that inhabited England. The Anglo Saxon period is from 450 AD to the norman conquest 1066. All that happened was cultures mixed and amalgamated slowly over the centuries. About a quarter of all English words we use today come from Anglo Saxon culture