When was monkey pops first discovered?

It was first identified as a distinct illness in 1958 among laboratory monkeys in Copenhagen, Denmark. Monkeys are not a natural reservoir of the virus. The first cases in humans were found in 1970 in the Democratic Republic of the Congo...