Why do doughnuts have holes?

It's thought that the inventor of the donut hole was a sailor on a ship in 1847. He didn't like how the fried cakes the cook served were always doughy and greasy in the middle, and he decided to punch a hole in the middle of the raw dough so that it would cook all the way through more evenly.