Why do pirates say pieces of eight?

The later Gold Doubloon was worth 32 reales or 2 escudos. It is this divisibility into 8 which caused the silver coins to be named "pieces of eight". Legend has it that the Spanish coin's markings made it easy to cut into 8 pieces in order to make change during a purchase.