Why do we have saliva?

Saliva can fight pretty much all nasty germs and makes it difficult for bad bacteria to grow in our mouth. It also helps us enjoy the flavours in our food by helping the taste buds break food down into smaller bits. Digestion begins in the mouth, using saliva.