What are the two most fundamental groups of cells?

The two fundamental types of cells are prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells. The biggest difference between them is that eukaryotic cells have a distinct nucleus which holds the cell's genetic material. Prokaryotic cells don't have a nucleus and have free-floating genetic material.