Where does the saying swings and roundabouts come from?

Irish writer Patrick Reginald Chalmers (1872-1942) is credited with popularising, or even inventing, the phrase, ‘swings and roundabouts’, meaning ‘a situation in which different actions, or options, result in no eventual gain or loss.’