What type of messenger is a hormone?

Hormones are chemical messengers secreted into blood or extracellular fluid by one cell that affect the function of other cells. A specific hormone affects only a limited number of target cells bearing receptors for the hormone. Cells lacking a receptor cannot be directly influenced by that hormone.