What does it mean to blanch vegetables?

Blanching vegetables is a technique to maintain their colour, crispness, flavour , and reduce the chance of bacterial contamination. It is done by briefly cooking veg in boiling salted water, then immediately plunging them into an ice water bath. It also shortens the subsequent cooking time.