What happened in fourteen forty four?

Battle of Varna, November 10, 1444. Turkish victory, over a Hungarian force, ending the European powers’ efforts to save Constantinople, now Istanbul, from Turkish conquest. It enabled the Ottoman Empire, to confirm, and expand, its control over the Balkans.