What is the relationship of the two main characters in the film whatever happened to baby jane?

In the 1962 film "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane", the two main characters are sisters. Baby Jane Hudson was played by Bette Davis, and Blanche Hudson was played by Joan Crawford.