Why is tonic water called tonic water?

The full name is "Indian tonic water." The Brits developed the drink in India in the 1870s, and this quinine-infused water supposedly had a tonic effect on the body. Quinine was added to counteract maleria and was a more plesant way to injest over taking tablets - particularly when combined with Gin