How to go to space?

The speed above which the Earth's gravity can't ever bring you back - known as escape velocity - is about 11.2 kilometers a second, or 6.96 miles per second. So you simply have to achieve this speed somehow. It's slightly easier to get into orbit or to visit another planet of our solar system.