Who is gugu dan?

Gunga Din is a 1890 poem by Rudyard Kipling. A British soldier in India is wounded in battle his Indian water carrier saves his life, only to be shot and killed. In the last lines of the poem the soldier regrets abuse dealt to his water carrier and admits that he (the servant) was the better man.