Why are the ashes called the ashes?

After Australia's 1882 victory at The Oval, newspaper The Sporting Times published a satirical obituary about the death of English cricket stating that "the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia". The next tour in Australia was dubbed by the media as "the quest to regain the ashes".