What is a building called a building if it's already built?

Now, it is called a building because the 'ing' in the English language is added to certain verbs to make them nouns. The verb 'built' is suffixed with 'ing' to make the thing a noun. The act is of building it when the actual work is in progress. Building is a gerund - a noun made from a verb.