What are boulanger potatoes?

Boulangère potatoes: a French potato & onion bake. Lightly fry sliced onions & thyme. Place alternate layers of thinly sliced potatoes & the onion in an ovenproof dish, finishing with potatoes. Cover with vegetable stock. Bake for 1 hour until the potatoes are cooked & the top is golden & crisp.