Why is a shark called a shark?

Until the 16th century, sharks were known as ‘dogfish’, a name that lingers for some species to this day. It is likely that the word ‘shark’ is derived from the Dutch word ‘schurk’, meaning ‘one that preys on others’, a villain or scoundrel.