Why is it called the dutch oven?

During the 17th century, brass was the preferred metal for English cookware, however the Dutch could produce it at a lower cost using sand moulds. Using iron the cast into the Dutch sand moulds provided a much cheaper product. Ultimately the “Dutch oven” was born; a metal pot with feet and a lid.