How do you stop mold?

Keep Healthy Humidity Levels. Mold and mildew thrive in a humid environment, so it is important to keep your humidity levels down. Fresh Air. Open windows help increase the ventilation in your home and are a good way to lower indoor carbon dioxide levels.