What's the difference between t. n. t. and dynamite?

Dynamite is not the same thing as TNT. ... But TNT (or 2,4,6,-trinitrotoluene, to use its chemical name) is not one of those components. Instead, the active explosive in dynamite is a chemical called nitroglycerin. Nitroglycerin was first made in 1847 by Italian chemist Ascanio Sobrero