What is penny for the guy?

A UK tradition related to the Gunpowder Plot of 1605. A member of that conspiracy, Guy Fawkes, has been burned in effigy every November 5th since that date. It is a tradition for the young people of a locality to wheel the effigy or "Guy" door to door asking for donations, hence the expression.