Why are there bubbles on bubble hats?

French sailors used to wear hats with the pom-poms on them so they wouldn't bang their head on the low ceilings of the ship and get hurt while out at sea when the waters got rough. So if you plan on doing any winter boating this season make sure you pack your winter pom-pom hat.