Why is it called a sandwich?

Sandwiches were named after John Montagu, the fourth earl of Sandwich, an eighteenth century English aristocrat. Legend has it that this was due to Montagu's gambling, spending many hours at the card table, resulting in him demanding the kitchen make him something to eat without needing to get up.