Why do dogs smell when they're wet?

When a dog is wet and indoors, evaporation causes micro-organisms and volatile compounds on the hair and skin to become airborne. This allows them to rise up to the point where a human nose can detect them. But in truth the dog always smells that way, you just can't detect it most of the time.