Is tinfoil waterproof?

Yes Tin foil is easy to shape and is waterproof, Tin foil discoloration is aluminum oxide, that is naturally present on the surface of the foil. When the foil comes in contact with moisture, it can speed up the buildup of aluminum oxide.