How do you tell if someone's lying to you?

You detect a frown or smirk for an instant. They keep looking at the exit. It takes them longer than usual to respond. They dodge a direct response. They leave themselves out of the story. They use words you’ve never known them to use. You sense a shift in their voice. They can’t re-tell the story.