What did they use before they had toilet paper?

According to the website “toilet paper history dot net” many different materials were used depending upon the country, weather conditions, social customs and status. People used leaves, grass, ferns, corn cobs, maize, fruit skins, seashells, stone, sand, moss, snow and water.