What's the difference between a house coat and a dressing gown?

A Dressing gown covers your Body usually when you get up it covers your Skin, Nighty or Pajamas however a Housecoat is for lounging at home is usually only to your hips you are normally fully dressed underneath and is the cousin to a smoking jacket