What are the different stages of sleep?

There are a number of stages, but they breakdown into REM (rapid eye movement) and Non-REM sleep. REM sleep happens 90 minutes after you fall asleep. The first period of REM typically lasts 10 minutes. Each of your later REM stages gets longer, up to an hour. Your heart rate and breathing quickens.