Do you need xbox live to play fortnite?

You do not need an active Xbox Live subscription to play Fortnite. Although Fortnite is free to play on Xbox, you will still need an Xbox Live account. This doesn't need a paid subscription, but you need the Xbox account in order to add Fortnite to your library and download it to your console.