Why did lady jane gray become queen?

John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland, was Protector to King Edward VI. He persuaded the dying King to will his crown to Lady Jane Grey, who was a Protestant and married to the Dukes son. Edward died on 6th July 1553 and Lady Jane ascended to the throne. She was just sixteen. Her reigne lasted 9 days.